RSS

Speaking about hopes in English

30 Apr

There are a number of expressions you can use to show your hopes and preferences.

Hopes

I’m hoping for (noun) (“I’m hoping for a new cell phone.”)

I’m hoping to get… (“I’m hoping to get a new phone.”)

I would like…

I really want… (Using “want” can be impolite unless you are talking to a close friend or family member.)

Something I’ve always wanted is…

I’d be delighted / over the moon if… (“I’d be delighted if you gave me a new watch.”)

What I’d like more than anything else is…

On my Christmas wish list is…

Preferences

I’d rather have (noun) (“I’d rather have tickets to the opera.”)

I’d rather you (simple past) (“I’d rather you saved your money.”)

I’d prefer (noun) (“I’d prefer some money for the new house.”)

I’d prefer it if you (simple past) (“I’d prefer it if you gave some money to charity.”)

….. would be more suitable / would be better

If I had a choice, I would go for…

If it’s all the same to you, …. (“If it’s all the same to you, I’d like some book tokens.”)

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 30, 2011 in Speaking English

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Speaking about hopes in English

  1. Genevieve Hagen

    May 22, 2011 at 4:21 pm

    We want to find out your thoughts and opinions of popular, everyday products. Companies are offering you five dollars or more for every survey you take.
    You’ll find hundreds of surveys that require your feedback. Anybody can participate. So if you have some free time, and could use a little additional money, please visit http://input.ncsall.org and begin!

     

Leave a Reply

 
